Universität Bonn


Programme structure

AFEPA Programme - Mobility, Courses and Dates

Study Plan

The AFEPA Master's programme is a 120 ECTS programme. Our students study a minimum of two semesters at a first main partner university and another two semesters at a second main partner university including Master thesis. All our students participate in two joint summer schools organized by main partner universities.

AFEPA Partners

AFEPA students spend their two academic years in the programme at  main partner universities at which the second year is different from first year university. It is also possible for our students to spend a shorter study period for writing their thesis in their second academic year at an associated academic partner.

Academic Calendar

The AFEPA academic year generally lasts from September 1 until August 31 of the following year but varies according to the academic calendar of the individual partner university. 

Mobility tracks

All four main partner universities in the programme can be first-year and second-year universities. You are free to choose your first-year university based on your academic interest. First-year students will be asked in December of their first year to voice their preference for their second year.

The ultimate decision is made by the AFEPA consortium considering the universities’ minimum requirements with regard to ECTS in economics, student’s academic performance, its research interests and a fairly even distribution of students among partner universities in addition to the student’s preference. 

What you can learn

AFEPA Study Plan

The AFEPA Master’s programme is a two-year programme with 120 ECTS credits consisting of two study periods at two main partner universities. English is the teaching language at all main partner universities.

The study programme consists of:

  • Mandatory courses in microeconomic theory and quantitative methods - 30 ECTS
  • Optional courses in thematic fields - 54 ECTS (optional courses may form a major of 30 ECTS in a thematic field)
  • Master Thesis - 30 ECTS
  • An internship between or during the first or second year may be taken for a 6 to 15 ECTS depending on the partner university
  • Summer School - 6 ECTS
Thematic fields

Main Partner Universities and Courses

University of Bonn (UBonn)

University of Bonn
© Volker Lannert / Uni Bonn

The Institute for Food and Resource Economics (ILR) at the University of Bonn (UBonn) in Bonn, Germany is responsible for AFEPA courses in Bonn. The research areas of ILR are economic and agricultural policy, environmental policy, economic modelling of agricultural systems and food markets.

Université catholique de Louvain (UCLouvain)

© UCLouvain

Specialization and expertise of the faculty members at UCLouvain cover agricultural and natural resource economics with a geographic focus on Europe and the Global South, and both theoretical and empirical economic modelling.                                                                                                  

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (UCSC)


SMEA-Alta Scuola di Management ed Economia Agroalimentare (Graduate School in Agricultural and Food Economics) at UCSC is one of the leading Italian schools
in the field with a Europe-wide reputation. It has many years of experience
in research concerning agricultural economics and policy, the industrial
organization of the food sector and the analysis of the functioning of the food
supply chain.                                                     

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU)

© Mark Harris / SLU

The research activities of SLU’s Agricultural and Food Economics unit in the Department of Economics concern the assessment of agricultural and trade policies, modelling of agri-food markets, and other issues related to agriculture, resources. The unit of Environmental Economics focuses on effects of policy instruments on carbon emission in a long-term perspective;  bio-energy and climate change; compliance with environmental regulations and design of environmental policies.

Associated Academic Partners

Students can spend a shorter exchange study period (one quarter) for writing their thesis as part of their second academic year at an associated academic partner. The Master thesis topic needs to be in correspondence with the second year university if an associated academic partner is involved.

Pontificia Universidad Católica in Santiago, Chile

Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya  in Barcelona, Spain

African Economic Research Consortium in Nairobi, Kenya

Academic calendar

The AFEPA academic year generally lasts from September 1 until August 31 of the following year but varies according to the academic calendar of the individual partner university. Students should arrive a few weeks before the start of the academic year at their first year university to participate in orientation sessions, complete administrative obligations (e.g., registration, insurance, rental contract, residence permit) and get acclimatized to the new environments before the academic year starts.

University of Bonn (UBonn)

Université catholique de Louvain (UCLouvain)

Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore (UCSC)

Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences (SLU)



AFEPA Coordination Office

University of Bonn
Institute for Food and Resource Economics
Nussallee 21
D-53115 Bonn

Email: Info@afepa.eu

All partners
Wird geladen